How To Use Spotify Abroad + Other Music Streaming Services

If you’re a Spotify user, or subscribe to any of the other music streaming services you may not be to get access to your music when travelling abroad. According to the Spotify site, there music streaming service is only currently available in 60 countries around the world. If you are planning a visit to any of the countries not on the list then you will not be able to access your music. Only if you have an application installed on your mobile or computer, then you will be able to use Spotify abroad.

The application to use is Tunnelbear, and this is available for mobile devices (including phones and tablets) as well as computers (ideal if you carry a laptop on your travels with you). The application creates a “tunnel” from where you currently are located to where you want to be located. This means that if you are travelling to a countries where you cannot use your music streaming service then you can use Tunnelbear to make it think you are in your home country, where the service works.

Tunnelbear have a free service, so depending on how often you travel or how much you listen to music while away you may be able to use this option. For heavier users you can choose to signup to a monthly plan. Tunnelbear can not only be used for music streaming but also television services if you want to be able to access UK television stations while out of the country. Often apps such as BBC iPlayer or ITV Hub will be blocked when you are out of the UK. Tunnelbear prevents this.

When using an application such as Tunnelbear to access music or television services that are not available in the country you are visiting make sure to check the legality.

Signup to Tunnelbear for free to start using the service.

Where Is Spotify Available?

Asia Pacific

Australia, Japan, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore and Taiwan.


Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and United Kingdom.

Latin America and the Caribbean

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru and Uruguay.

The United States and Canada

Canada and United States.